ISRO Chief Radhakrishnan Retires, Shailesh Nayak in Charge

  • Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) Chairman K. Radhakrishnan retired on 31.12.2014
  • An order by the Secretary, Appointments’ Committee of the Union Cabinet said:Shailesh Nayak  who is Secretary, Union Earth Sciences Ministry, will hold additional and interim charge as Chairman for a month or until a regular chief is named.
  • Dr. Radhakrishnan led ISRO in many achievements over the past five years after he took over the reins in November 2009.
  • The historic Mars Orbiter Mission was launched and guided to an orbit around the red planet under his leadership.
  • The partial experimental sub-orbital flight of the GSLV Mark-III heavy-lift launch vehicle was another success.
  • The early part of his chairmanship was marred by the Antrix-Devas S-band satellite controversy and the cancellation of that deal in February 2011.
  • Dr. Radhakrishnan took over from G. Madhavan Nair in October 2009 as the seventh chief of the space establishment.