E-Visa for 43 Nations, Big Boost for Tourism

  • The Government launched the much-touted online visa facility for 43 countries, including the US, Australia, Japan, Israel, Germany and Singapore to give the tourism sector a significant push.
  • Travellers can apply for a visa from the comfort of their homes and receive one within 72 hours.
  • The electronic travel authorization (ETA) will be valid for 30 days and the visa fee has been fixed at $62.
  • Those travelling on leisure, short duration medical treatment, casual business visit or to meet friends and relatives will be eligible to apply.
  • The facility will be made available at nine airports : Delhi, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Chennai, Kochi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata and Thiruvanathapuram.
  • Home minister Rajnath Singh said:“We want to promote tourism in the country in a big way . The contribution of tourism in GDP is approximately 7% and we want to double it.
  • Barring those who are `high-risk' countries, this facility will be extended to almost every country in the world phase-wise.
  • Tourism minister Mahesh Sharma said:This is a historic day for tourism sector. The facility has opened the country to a vast world.